LibGuides: Nursing: NURS 412 Nursing Research & Evidenced-Based Practice: NURS 412

Quick Start

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
The principal index to nursing and allied health journal articles plus full text for about 200 health science journals. Contains full-text. Excellent starting point for peer–reviewed or evidence-based literature, including nursing specialties, patient care planning guidelines, and research-based PICO queries.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Contains high-quality independent evidence-based practice research, systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations, and individual clinical trials. Excellent starting point for literature reviews.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
A user-friendly interface to the PubMed database that provides direct linking to the full text of articles available at U of L.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides resources appropriate for academic study in Nursing and the Allied Health fields. Provides indexing to over 800 publications. Full-text is available from over 400 peer-reviewed journals.

The section of the Library Collection dealing with Nursing topics are usually found throughout call number R. A simple outline of the topics in this section:

RB1-214 -- Pathology

RC31-1245 -- Internal medicine

RC952-954.6 -- Geriatrics

RD1-811 -- Surgery

RG1-991 -- Gynecology and obstetrics

RJ1-570 -- Pediatrics

RM1-950 -- Therapeutics. Pharmacology

RT1-120 -- Nursing. History, leadership and education, special topics

Browse this section of our building.

Merck Manual for Healthcare Professionals
Written for the professional, clinically describes diseases and conditions, who is likely to get them, and contains updated pharmacological and therapeutic information related to those conditions. Contains photographs and audio and video material not present in the print versions.
Merck Manual Home Health Book
Explains disorders in patient-oriented terms, who is likely to get them, their symptoms, how they're diagnosed, how they might be prevented, and how they can be treated; also provides information about prognosis.
U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
The nation's premier agency for protecting health and promoting quality of life through the prevention and control of disease, injury, and disability.
PubMed
Comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

U.S. National Center for Health Statistics
E-STATISTICS. Compiles statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of our people, working as the nation's principal health statistics agency.
Health, United States, Current Year
Health, United States is an annual report on trends in health statistics.
Virginia Division of Health Statistics
Collects and disseminates vital records data, conducts research, and produces reports which help guide health policy issues affecting the Commonwealth of Virginia, including: population, teenage pregnancies, births, deaths, induced terminations and fetal deaths.
Kaiser State Health Facts
E-STATISTICS. Statehealthfacts.org provides data on more than 700 health topics The data are based on an analysis of the Census Bureau’s March 2009 and 2010 Current Population Surveys (CPS; Annual Social and Economic Supplements) and are restricted to the civilian (not active duty military) population. The state data represent 2-year averages.
America's Children, Key Indicators of Well-Being
E-STATISTICS. Presents 41 key indicators in seven domains: family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education, and health.
CDC Wonder
WONDER online databases utilize a rich ad-hoc query system for the analysis of public health data. Reports and other query systems are also available.

Subject Guide

Abby Skinner

She / Her / Hers

Email Me

Contact:

skinner_a@lynchburg.edu

434.544.8399

Last Taught

Guide last updated for Fall 2017, with assignments from instructor Joanne Newton.

Nursing: NURS 412 Nursing Research & Evidenced-Based Practice: NURS 412

Welcome

Quick Start

Subject Guide

Last Taught