LibGuides: Nursing: NURS 412 Nursing Research & Evidenced-Based Practice: Nursing Research

Research Databases

Nursing students find many helpful citations in:

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
The principal index to nursing and allied health journal articles plus full text for about 200 health science journals. Contains full-text. Excellent starting point for peer–reviewed or evidence-based literature, including nursing specialities, patient care planning guidelines, and research-based PICO queries.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
A user-friendly interface to the PubMed database that provides direct linking to the full text of articles available at U of L.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
REVIEWS. Contains high-quality independent evidence-based practice research, systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations, and individual clinical trials. Excellent starting point for literature reviews.

Nursing Research Books @ LC

Practical Guide to Clinical Research by R. Jennifer Cavalieri; Mark E. Rupp; Sigma Theta Tau International Staff (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9781937554651

more books on nursing research

Making Sense of Research in Nursing, Health and Social Care by Pam Moule
ISBN: 9781473907539
What is research? Why is it important in health and nursing? How should students use evidence in practice? This short and simple book for those who are completely new to research will answer all your students' questions about the subject. It will help them to make sense of the various and often confusing research methods and terminology, to read and appraise literature and to understand how research is implemented in practice.

Database Tricks

try CINAHL headings or MESH Headings for initial major concepts, then add keywords
NURS* asterisk finds prefix/suffix variations

nurse
nurses
nursing
nursing's

"quotes around phrases" quotes combine words only next to each other

"primary caregiver"
"non-small-cell lung carcinoma"

Use a PICOT Query to Create Your Search Strategy

ASK A FOREGROUND QUESTION:

PICOT: For mechanically-vented patients 65 years or older, does a change in bed positioning positively affect outcomes versus no change in bed position?

Eliminate the way it is written as a question:

For mechanically-vented patients 65 years or older, does a change in bed positioning positively affect outcomes versus no change in bed position?

Identify phrases, keywords, and asterisk truncation:

ventilator patients
"bed* position*": bed, bed(s), position, position(s) position(ing)
0 degree, 30 degree

Use your limiters:

English language, 65 years and older, etc.