LibGuides: Historic Sandusky: Collections

Use OneSearch to find Historic Sandusky, Fielding Collection, and Langhorne Research Room works.

How do I use this tool?

Type your keywords:

To see all of the Historic Sandusky holdings, select the drop-down menu to the right of the search bar:

Limit to specific Historic Sandusky locations by clicking them in the list to the left:

Lynchburg and Its Neighbors by Rosa F. Yancey
ISBN: 1890306045
Re-issued in 1997 by Warwick House, this 1935 history of Lynchburg includes genealogies of selected families, the history of tobacco farming around Lynchburg, and a history of the region to 1935.

USED SIX TIMES!
The Shenandoah Valley and Virginia, 1861 to 1865 by Sanford C. Kellogg
Kellogg's 1903 work contains an informative chapter on the Battle of Lynchburg as well as information about the entire Shenandoah Valley campaign during the Civil War.

USED FOUR TIMES!

Can I check these books out?

The library catalog lists some Historic Sandusky books as Library Use Only, but many books are available for 28-day loans to Lynchburg faculty and students. Ask a Historic Sandusky staff member if you have questions about our loan policies.

Do I have to wear white gloves to handle the books?

For Fielding collection and Historic Sandusky items, users are not required to wear gloves. For some Langhorne Research room books, users may be required to wear gloves and handle the object away from any source of moisture.

Can I photograph or copy pages of books?

For the majority of materials, non-flash photography from cell phones or cameras is permitted. You may make photocopies of various pages, but not the entire work, if the book is in good condition. For books in poor condition or any research materials from the Langhorne Research room, Historic Sandusky reserves the right to restrict photography or copying.

What are the restrictions for the Langhorne Research room?

No bags or purses, bulky coats or jackets
No food or drinks, not even in closed containers
Historic Sandusky will provide one pencil for note taking (no other writing instruments are allowed)
Materials must remain on the tabletop surface at all times

Three Collections

Historic Sandusky

This general collection focuses on the Civil War and local Lynchburg History. The collection includes, biographies, secondary sources, photographic works, guide books and some primary sources such as autobiographies, diaries, memoirs, and personal narratives. These books can be used to write senior thesis and research papers. These books cover the most general topics and are representative of a traditional library.

Fielding Collection

This collection of Virginia regimental histories can be used for primary source documentation. Volumes include registers, maps and photographs. Each volume covers one Virginia regiment.

Langhorne Research Room

The most rare books are held in the Langhorne Research Room. These books have restricted access and access must be requested. These rare works comprise books published at the time the Hutter family owned the Sandusky house, as well as rare books published about Jubal Anderson Early, and General David Hunter.