Skip to Main Content

PA 950 | Health Law: PA 950 | Texts

PA 950 | Texts

PA 950 | Health Law

Below you will find quick links to the textbooks for this course.

Link broken? Let us know so that we can fix it!
Questions?? Please reach out to your professor or your library liaison, Abby Skinner!

Quick Links

Health Law, 3rd ed.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is a premier online database containing more than 173 million pages and 250,000 titles of historical and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format. HeinOnline bridges an important research gap by providing comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 2,700 law-related periodicals. In addition to its vast collection of academic journals, HeinOnline contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

*NOTE: When library links are enabled in the settings, direct links through the library's databases will appear next to the title when the University has access.

Physician Assistant DMSc
by Abby Skinner Last Updated Jan 23, 2024 1571 views this year
Advanced Research & Doctoral Dissertation
by Jenny Horton Last Updated Apr 19, 2023 171 views this year

She / Her / Hers

Email Me

Contact:

skinner_a@lynchburg.edu

434.544.8399

Weekly Readings

Week 1 | Licensure of Health Professionals & Quality Control Regulations

KATSKEE V. BC/BS OF NEBRASKA 245 NEB. 8808, 515 N.W.2D 645

* Optional Case Book | Chapter 1: Cost, Qual, Access

* Optional Case Book | Chapter 2: QC Regs, License Professionals

* Optional Case Book | Chapter 3: QC Regs, HC Institutions

Week 2 | Liability & Negligence

* Optional Case Book | Chapter 5: Liab of HC Professionals

Week 3 | Liability and Quality Improvement of Health Care Organizations

*Optional Case Book | Chapter 4: Prof-Patient Relationship

Week 4 | Federal Nondiscrimination Statutes

* Optional Case Book | Chapter 7: Discrimination and Unequal Tx

Week 5 | Regulation of Insurance

* Optional Case Book | Chapter 6: Liab of HC Institutions

Week 6 | ACA

Jacob S. Hacker and Theodore R. Marmor. How Not To Think About "Managed Care". 32 U.Mich J.L. Reform 661 (1999)

* Optional Case Book | Chapter 9: HC Reform Policy

* Optional Case Book | Chapter 10: ACA

Week 7 | Entitlement Insurance

* Optional Case Book | Chapter 11: Pub Health Financing

Week 8 | Privileges & Labor

*Optional Case Book | Chapter 12: Prof Relationships

Week 9 | Healthcare Organizational Structure

* Optional Case Book | Chapter 13: HC Structure

* Optional Case Book | Chapter 14: Tax Exempt Orgs

Week 10 | Fraud & Abuse

* Optional Case Book | Chapter 15: HC Fraud

Week 11 | Death and Refusal of Care

Joseph Fletcher, "Humanness," in Humanhood: Essays in Biomedical Ethics 12-16 (1979)
(available on the PA 950 Moodle page)
Roe v. Wade. Supreme Court of the United States, 1973. 410 U.S. 113, 93 S.Ct. 705, 35L.Ed.2d 147
Planned Parenthood of Southeastern Pennsylvania v. Casey. Supreme Court of the United States, 1992. 505 U.S. 833, 112 S.Ct. 2791, 120 L.Ed.2d 674
Gonzales v. Carhart. Supreme Court of the Untied States, 2007. 550 U.S. 124, 127 S.Ct. 1610, 167 L.Ed.2d 480
Whole Woman's Health v. Hellerstedt. Supreme Court of the United States, 2016. 136 SCt. 2292, 195 L.Ed.2d 665

* Optional Case Book | Chapter 16

* Optional Case Book | Chapter 17

* Optional Case Book | Chapter 18

* Optional Case Book | Chapter 19

Course Wrap Up