Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LibKey Nomad

Introduction

What is LibKey Nomad?

LibKey NomadLibKey Nomad is a browser extension that automatically provides instant links to full text content for article subscribed to by your library (or open access alternatives) as you do research on the web and come across literature. In each case, Nomad checks with our OneSearch tool to figure out the fastest path to content across thousands of publisher websites. PubMed and Wikipedia search results are also enhanced.


LibKey in PubMed Search Results

How to Get LibKey Nomad

How to Install LibKey Nomad

LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that works by being installed on your browser.  It works with Chrome, Firefox, Edge, Vivaldi, and Brave.  After installation, LibKey Nomad automatically scans for scholarly content wherever you may roam, and offers you links through our library whenever possible. 

In order to install, follow these steps: 


  • Visit the LibKey Nomad link below
  • Click on the download icon next to your browser type (Chrome, Firefox, etc.)
  • Click the "Add to ___" button
  • Click on the green teardrop icon in the plugins & bookmarks region of your browser window
  • In the popup box that appears, search for and select University of Lynchburg as your Organization
  • That's it, you're done! 

Installing LibKey Nomad for Chrome

Using LibKey Nomad

Using LibKey Nomad

Once installed, LibKey Nomad will run quietly in the background, checking in OneSearch and offering you the fastest route to full text that it can find for the articles that you come across.  There are a few different types of links that LibKey offers, which are explained below. 


 An Access Options link means that LibKey believes that our library doesn't have full-text access.  Click on that link to go to OneSearch where you can initiate an interlibrary loan request that will be auto-populated with the citation information. 


A Download PDF link is an indication that LibKey has found a direct route to the PDF.  Click this link to bypass intermediary steps and download the PDF directly. 


An Article Link means that LibKey has found full text, but needs to route you through the publisher's site to get to the full text.  Click on this link to get to the article page where you can download the full text. 


The View Complete Issue brings you to the full issue of the selected journal in our Browzine interface where you can browse additional articles. 


When you come across an article naturally (not through the library website) LibKey may offer you a link on the bottom left corner.  This will be one of the link types described above and generally provide the shortest route to full text. 

LibKey Nomad in Action

Demonstration