Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
U.S. Newspapers and the Holocaust
History Unfolded is a project of the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum in Washington, DC. It asks students, teachers, and history buffs throughout the United States what was possible for Americans to have known about the Holocaust as it was happening and how Americans responded. Participants look in local newspapers for news and opinion about 32 different Holocaust-era events that took place in the United States and Europe, and submit articles they find to a national database, as well as information about newspapers that did not cover events. History Unfolded raises questions for scholars and will inform the Museum’s initiative on Americans and the Holocaust.
Virginia Newspapers and the Holocaust
Daily Progress - Charlottesville, VA
The Daily Progress was published daily between 1933-1945.
Free-Lance Star - Fredericksburg, VA
The Free Lance-Star was published daily except Sundays from 1933-1945.
The Collegian - Richmond, VA
The Collegian is the editorially independent student newspaper at the University of Richmond. It was published weekly between 1933-1945.
Virginia Chronicle - Richmond, VA
The Virginia Chronicle provides access to several Virginia newspapers published between 1933-1945. These include The Rappahannock Record, The Smithfield Times, The Monocle, The Recorder, The Southside Sentinel, and The Virginia Farm Bureau News (monthly).
The Flat Hat - Williamsburg, VA
The Flat Hat is the student newspaper of the College of William & Mary and was published weekly during the years 1933-1945.
Historic German Newspapers
Open access archive to two widely distributed and influential Prussian newspapers from the second half of the 19th century, the Provinzial-Correspondenz, 1863-1884 and the Neueste Mittheilungen, 1882-1894.
Bayerische Landesbibliothek Online - Schwerpunkt Zeitungen
Historical archive of newspapers from the Bavarian State Archives and others. Contains Coburger Zeitung [1854/61-1935], Coburger Nationalzeitung [1930-1945], and others.
A digital collection of 118 Jewish periodicals from German-speaking countries, 1806-1938.
Digitalisierung der Pressearchive von HWWA und IfW
Retrospective digitization of economic press articles from the Institute for World Economy (IfW) and the Hamburg World Economy Archives (HWWA), 1826-1948.
Exilpresse Digital : Deutsche Exilzeitschriften, 1933-1945
Newspapers and periodicals published by various exile communities before and during World War II.
Freiburger Historische Bestände - digitalisiert
Digitized pages of Freiburger Zeitung (1784-1943) and Staufener Wochenblatt (1875-1968) and other material. Browseable by date.
Universitätsbibliothek Heidelberg - Zeitschriften und Zeitungen
Contains digital images of field newspapers from World War I, Heidelberger Zeitung (1861-1919), and Der Heidelberger Student(1929-1938), among other items. Also provides access to Relation (Straßburg, 1609) "the oldest newspaper in the world."