Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Health Promotion Resources
Information on HIV/AIDS treatment, prevention and research from the US Department of Health & Human Services
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Health information on a variety of topics, research and statistics in English and Spanish.
- Community Health Improvement Navigator (CDC)
This resource provides a framework for community health improvement projects and provides some key concepts to consider.
- Guide to Community Preventive Services
Review effective programs and policies to improve health and prevent disease.
Health information in many languages.
- Health Services Research & Public Health Information Programs
Public health resource portal. Health Services/Sciences Research Resources (HSRR), Health Services/Technology Assessment (Full) Texts (HSTAT), Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce, HSR Queries (PubMed with cost & quality search filters), CER Queries (Comparative Effectiveness)
- Healthy Roads Media
Multilingual resources in video and printed form on a variety of public health topics.
- NACCHO (National Association of County Health Officials)
Programs, resources, advocacy, and model practices in community health, environmental health, public health infrastructure and systems, and public health preparedness. Also includes conferences, webinars and other training information.
- Public Health Partners (PHPartners)
Health promotion and health education resources from a collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations and health sciences libraries.
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Resources for statistics by topic, surveys and data collection, NIOSH data, Healthy People 2020, etc.
County Health Rankings & Roadmaps (U.S.)
Allows you to look at health rankings for counties within a given U.S. state and includes length of life, quality of life, health behaviors, clinical care, social & economic factors, physical environment. It includes data, definitions and comparisons across counties
Data.CDC.gov provides a central way to search and discover data and allows for visualizations (e.g., charts, maps, and filtered views), and syndication.
- Healthcare Effectiveness Data and Information Data (HEDIS)
The Healthcare Effectiveness Data and Information Set (HEDIS) is a tool used by more than 90 percent of America's health plans to measure performance on important dimensions of care and service. Altogether, HEDIS consists of 94 measures across 7 domains of care. Because so many plans collect HEDIS data, and because the measures are so specifically defined, HEDIS makes it possible to compare the performance of health plans on an "apples-to-apples" basis.
- Health Data Tools and Statistics (Public Health Partners)
Health data and statistics tools from Public Health Partners, a collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations and health sciences libraries.
- MedlinePlus Health Statistics
Links to all kinds of health statistics from the National Institutes of Health and other federal government agencies.
- Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR)
MMWR Recommendations and Reports
- National Center for Health Statistics
Principal U.S. health statistics repository maintained by the CDC.
- USA.GOV STATISTICS
Find data about the U.S., such as maps and population, demographic, and economic data
- WHO Global Health Observatory
The Global Health Observatory (GHO) provides data and analyses on global health priorities. GHO highlights information on various global health themes and trends using core indicators, database views, major publications and links to relevant web pages.
- WHO Universal Health Coverage Data Portal
This UHC data portal to tracks progress towards universal health coverage (UHC) around the world. It provides current data on access to health services and equity in access globally and in individual countries. Also available as a free mobile app.
The research process has six steps, described below:
Step 1 | Find a topic you're interested in.
Step 2 | Identify keywords connected to the topic.
Step 3 | Use these keywords to search for articles and books related to the topic in library databases or Google Scholar and scan them to see if they're relevant to your research.
Step 4 | Sometimes, your searches will lead you to change your research topic, which is okay; just go back to Step 2 and identify some new keywords.
Step 5 | Evaluate the sources you've gathered for accuracy and relevance to your topic and cite them properly.
Step 6 | Synthesize the sources you've evaluated into a clear, original thesis statement and write your research paper.
These three words (And, Or, Not) are used as connectors between your search terms. They are Boolean Operators.
"And" | Narrows the number and focus of results, and results contain sources with all search terms. For example:
- "child obesity" and Maryland
- "video games" and teens
"Or" | Broadens the number and focus of results, and results contain sources with any of your search terms. It's used with synonyms and related terms. For example:
- obesity or overweight
- children or juveniles
"Not" | Narrows the number and focus of results and eliminates sources containing the term after "not". For example:
- Washington not DC (for articles about the state.)
Determining if a source is credible and reliable can be challenging. Use the SIFT method to help you analyze information, especially news or other online media.
STOP | Do you know anything about the website or source of information you found? What about its reputation? It's purpose? You'll want to know these things before you read it, cite it, or share it on social media.
INVESTIGATE THE SOURCE | It's important to know the expertise and agenda of your source. Try a Google search of the author or publisher to find out what others say about them. Open multiple tabs.
FIND TRUSTED COVERAGE | Look for the best information on a topic or scan multiple sources to see what the consensus is. Find something in-depth and read about more viewpoints. Even if you don't agree with the consensus, it will help you to investigate further.
TRACE CLAIMS, QUOTES, & MEDIA | Is there a study or report mentioned in the article? Find the original report to see if it was accurately reported. What about images? A reverse-image search may be necessary.
Google Scholar | Off-Campus Access
Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research. It allows you to find articles, theses, abstracts, and court opinions. Articles for which we have paid access will have @ University of Lynchburg linked in the margin.
When you are off-campus, Google Scholar will forget that we are your home library. So, in order to keep finding University of Lynchburg resources, follow the steps below to set up your library links:
- Go to scholar.google.com
- Click the menu icon
- Select settings from the list
- Click on library links
- Search for Lynchburg
- Select the University of Lynchburg
The Knight-Capron librarians offer one-on-one research appointments, both in-person and online, to help you with your research projects. Click the button below to schedule!
The Wilmer Writing Center assists student researchers with remedial to advanced levels of writing in all fields. Remember that even professional athletes need coaches!
Writing Center Appointment
PASS leaders conduct group tutoring sessions multiple times a week and provide drop-in hours to meet individually with any student who would like more assistance.
The GO Mentoring Program offers individual assistance to help you develop better organizational skills with course materials, study habits, and more.
Go Mentoring Appointment
The Math Engagement Center (MEC) offers tutoring, both in-person and online, for quantitative courses like Math and Statistics.
Ask a Librarian
She / Her / Hers
Subjects: Africana Studies
, Health Sciences
, Health Sciences | Athletic Training
, Health Sciences | Exercise Physiology
, Health Sciences | Health Benefit Design
, Health Sciences | Health Informatics
, Health Sciences | Health Promotion
, Health Sciences | Nursing
, Health Sciences | Physical Therapy
, Health Sciences | Physician Assistant
, Health Sciences | Public Health
, Health Sciences | Sport Management
, Intelligence Studies
, International Relations | Security
, News | Newspapers | Current Events
, Political Science
, Pop Culture