LibGuides: Gov.Sch. Tales from the Genome: Finding Reference Book Articles

Reference Sources Scientist Biographies

The Biographical Dictionary of Scientists by Roy Porter (Editor); Marilyn B. Ogilvie (Editor)
Call Number: REF Q141 .B528 2000
ISBN: 0195216636
Publication Date: 2000-05-18
The third edition offers more than 1,280 concise, authoritative portraits of the men and women of science throughout the ages. Covering every field--from astronomy to zoology, the pure sciences as well as engineering and technology,
The Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science by Marilyn Ogilvie (Editor); Joy Harvey (Editor); Margaret Rossiter (Introduction by)
Call Number: REF Q141 .B5285 2000
ISBN: 0415920388
Publication Date: 2000-07-06
This work gives biographical details of nearly 3000 scientists' lives, works and accomplishments around the globe. It should be a useful resource for information on women's history, individual scientists or science history, and includes A-Z entries, with indexes and suggestions for further reading.
Notable Twentieth-Century Scientists by Emily J. McMurray (Editor); Donna Olendorf (Editor)
Call Number: REF Q141 .N73
ISBN: 0810391813
Publication Date: 1994-10-01
This four-volume set profiles some of the 20th century's most prolific scientists, both living and deceased. Entries are arranged alphabetically to assist researchers locate specific individuals quickly, and each 750-2500 word essay provides personal and career information, including a list of major writings and resources for further information.

The Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders by Stacey Blachford (Editor)
Call Number: REF RB155.5 .G35 2002
ISBN: 0787656127
Publication Date: 2001-10-31
"The Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders provides clear, complete information on generic disorders, including conditions, tests, procedures, treatments and therapies, in articles that are both comprehensive and easy to understand in language accessible to laypersons.
Magill's Medical Guide by Anne Lynn S. Chang (Editor); H. Bradford Hawley (Editor); Laurence M. Katz (Editor); Nancy A. Piotrowski (Editor); Connie Rizzo (Editor)
Call Number: REF RC41 .M34 2008
ISBN: 9781587653841
Publication Date: 2007-11-01
The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy by Mark H. Beers (Editor); Justin L. Kaplan (Editor); Michael Berkwits (Editor); Thomas V. Jones; Robert S. Porter
Call Number: REF RM127 .M4 2006
ISBN: 9780911910186
Publication Date: 2006-04-07
The thoroughly revised and updated 18th edition of 'The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy' is packed with essential information on diagnosing and treating medical disorders to help medical professionals deliver the best care to their patients.