Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hours of Operation
Mission & Vision
A-Z Databases List
Journals by Subject
Library Account Login
Faculty & Staff Info
Request Library Instruction
Library Instruction Modules
University of Lynchburg
Search this Guide
Biographical Resources: General
Art, music, entertainment and sports
U.S. and World Leaders
Inventors, Scientists and Mathematicians
Biography - a human life in its course
an account of someone's life written by someone else.
"an unauthorized biography of Pat Nixon"
biographies as a branch of literature.
a human life in its course.
"although their individual biographies are different, both are motivated by a similar ambition"
General Online Biographical Resources
BBC-History: Historical Figures
A to Z list of selective concise biographies on famous and notable historical figures.
A & E's Biography television series includes a searchable text of of entries from The Cambridge Biographical Encyclopedia.
Access to over 30,000 biographies in politics and government, people in the news, and recent deaths.
Nobel Prize Winners
All winners in all categories back to 1995.
Historical biographies and profiles from PBS programs, documentaries, feature films, and interviews about famous and historical figures.
Online archive of information 1917 to Present.
TIME 100: The Most Influential People 2014
Annual TIME list of the 100 most influential people .
Archive available as well.
TIME 100: The Most Influential People Archive
Archive of TIME's most influential people in the world 2004-2013.
General Print Biographical Resources
American National Biography
John A. Garraty (Editor); Mark C. Carnes (Editor)
Call Number: E176 .A68 1999
Publication Date: 1999-01-21
American National Biography is the first new comprehensive biographical dicionary focused on American history to be published in seventy years.
Sep 17, 2020 2:47 PM
Login to LibApps