Skip to Main Content
Library Logo Link

Elsevier Transition

ProQuest Primary Sources Access Foundation       

This is a collection of ProQuest databases containing primary source content from newspapers, magazines, books, manuscripts, U.S. and UK Government Documents, and more. This rich collection has been assembled specifically for researchers and students at smaller institutions in this region. View the "More" tab to see a list of the contents.

U.K. Government

  • The Annual Register
  • Cecil Papers
  • Colonial State Papers
  • Documents on British Policy
  • House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (1801 - 1900)

U.S. Government

  • Congressional Hearings Digital Collection, 1824 - 2003
  • Congressional Research Digital Collection, 1830 - 2003
  • US Serial Set Digital Collection, 1789 - 1969
  • Executive Branch Documents, 1789 - 1939
  • Historical Statistical Abstracts, 1878 - 2012
  • Digital National Security Archive (DNSA)

History Primary Studies

  • Black Studies Center

History Vault

American Indians and the American West

  • American Indians and the American West, 1809 - 1971

American Politics and Society

  • American Politics and Society from JFK to Watergate, 1960 - 1975
  • Immigration: Records of the INS, 1880 - 1930

Black Freedom Struggle

  • Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records
  • Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records Supplement
  • Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Pt 1
  • Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Pt 2

NAACP Papers

  • NAACP Papers: Board of Directors, Annual Conferences, Major Speeches, and National Staff Files
  • NAACP Papers: The NAACP’s Major Campaigns: Legal Department Files
  • NAACP Papers: The NAACP’s Major Campaigns: Scottsboro, Anti-Lynching, Criminal Justice, Peonage, Labor, and Segregartion and Discrimination Complaints and Responses

International Relations

  • Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy

Women’s Studies Modules

  • Struggle for Women’s Rights, 1880 - 1990: Organizational Records
  • Women at Work During WWII: Rosie the Riveter and the Women’s Army Corps

Workers & Labor Unions

  • Workers, Labor Unions, and the American Left in the 20th Century

Early English Books

  • Early English Books Online

Periodicals and Magazines

  • American Periodicals
  • American Periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries
  • Art and Architecture Archive
  • British Periodicals (1-4) (1681 - 2005)
  • Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive (1,2) (1894 - 2000)
  • Harper’s Bazaar (1867 - )
  • Periodicals Archive Online
  • Periodicals Index Online
  • Vogue Italia (1964 - )
  • Women’s Wear Daily (1910 - )

Alexander Street Press

  • American Civil War: Letters and Diaries
  • American Film Scripts
  • Black Thought and Culture
  • British and Irish Women’s Letters and Diaries
  • Disability in the Modern World: History of a Social Movement
  • Early Encounters in North America
  • Food Studies Online
  • The Gilded Age
  • Human rights Studies Online
  • LGBT Thought and Culture
  • North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories
  • North American Indian Thought and Culture
  • North American Women’s Letters and Diaries
  • The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives, 1960 - 1974
  • Social Work Online
  • Twentieth Century North American Drama
  • Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires since 1820

Historical Newspapers - International Newspapers

  • Chinese Newspapers (1832 - 1953)
  • Jerusalem Post (1932 - 2008)
  • South China Morning Post (1903 - 1998)
  • The Globe and Mail (1844 - 2013)
  • The Irish Times (1859 - 2015)
  • The Scotsman (1817 - 1950)
  • Times of India (1983 - 2008)
  • Toronto Star (1894 - 2015)
  • Weekly Irish Times (1876 - 1958)

Historical Newspapers - Black Newspapers

  • Cleveland Call & Post (1934-1991) 
  • Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005)
  • New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993) 
  • The Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001) 
  • Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002) 

Historical Newspapers - Jewish Newspapers

  • America Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857-1922) 
  • The American Israelite (1854-2000) 
  • The Jewish Advocate (1905-1990) 
  • Jewish Exponent (1887-1990)

Historical Newspapers - U.S. Regional Newspapers

  • The Arizona Republican (1890-1922) 
  • Austin American Statesman (1871-1978) 
  • The Boston Globe (1872-1985) 
  • The Cincinnati Enquirer (1841-1922) 
  • Dayton Daily News (1898-1922) 
  • Detroit Free Press (1831-1922) 
  • Hartford Courant (1764-1991) 
  • The Indianapolis Star (1903-1922) 
  • Louisville Courier-Journal (1830-1922) 
  • New York Tribune / Herald Tribune (1841-1962) 
  • Newsday (1940-1989) 
  • San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922) 
  • St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874-1922) 
  • ProQuest Civil War Era Newspapers (1840-1865)