Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Knight-Capron Library Blog

New Database: Issues & Controversies in History

by Logan Dalton on 2020-10-01T10:15:00-04:00 in Africana Studies, Archaeology, Classical Studies, General, Sociology, Political Science, International Relations | Security, History, Communication | Comments

 
Are you taking a course where you have to argue one side of a controversial topic? Or are you writing a history paper on a controversial topic and don't know where to start your research? Well, we have the database for you!

Issues & Controversies in History distills great debates and events in history from the effects of the Black Death to the current peace process in the Middle East into a manageable format that can lead to more in-depth research. Each topic has an introductory pro/con article with a bibliography of the primary and secondary sources it cited, a timeline, a list of primary sources, and a "learn more" tab that will lead you to reliable secondary sources, such as a CDC report on how the bubonic plague is spread. The database also has Credo encyclopedia articles if you need a refresher on historical concepts, events, or figures.

You can search Issues & Controversies in History by keyword, or you can narrow it down by eras of World and American History, geographic region, or by subject. Some examples of subjects are Business, Labor, and Industry; Science and Technology, and Women and Gender.

Issues & Controversies in History is a great place to start if you need background information on a historical event or topic that is unfamiliar to you, or if you need to find a primary source or two to beef up your research paper or presentation. Finally, the bibliography of each Pro/Con article is a veritable gold mine of scholarship on the topic it covers.

You can find Issues & Controversies in History in the "Databases" tab on the library website homepage or at this handy permalink. 

If you have any questions about this new database and how to use it in your research, one of our staff members would love to help you either through our library chat or by scheduling a research appointment at this link.

 


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...