As the official repository for records of enduring value to the University of Lynchburg community, Knight-Capron Library administers the University’s archive and special collections. We work collaboratively with stakeholders from across campus to actively collect the official records of Lynchburg administrators and administrative offices, as well as materials that hold permanent historical value from academic programs, departments, and committees. We seek to make these materials as accessible as possible through an active instruction program, digitization and publication, exhibitions and public programs, and reliable and meaningful description.
Materials within our collections require and receive special care due to their format, value, rarity, provenance, storage needs, or other considerations. Researchers are invited to use our collections in person by request, and to discover our holdings online through our growing digital collections.
The purpose of the scope is to offer an in-depth description of the collections contained within the Archive in the Knight-Capron Library; in other words, the who, what, when, where, and how.
Who: Collected materials were created or donated by the University of Lynchburg community (faculty, staff, students, alumni, etc.)
What: The archive preserves and manages the University of Lynchburg’s academic, societal, athletic, administrative, and historically significant collections.
When: Materials pertain primarily to the lifespan and history of the University of Lynchburg, from around 1903 - present day.
Where: Collections mostly focus on the locations where the University of Lynchburg has conducted its operations, including the campus itself, the City of Lynchburg and surrounding counties, and remote locations such as internships, study abroad programs, etc.
How: The library solicits both internal contributions from active students and employees, as well as external donations from former employees, alumni, and community members.
The Archive is committed to continually weighing and recalibrating its appraisal criteria and collecting policies. Priority for selection depends upon factors that include existing and projected costs, and available resources. Due to the limited space available all potential donors must reach out to the Archivist first before sending anything to the Archive. Once a donation form has been completed and approved then the item(s) can be sent to the archive and processed into the collection.
The Knight-Capron Library will not accept materials without legal transfer of title through a deed of gift, transfer of records form, or other official acknowledgement. We do not accept gifts that pose major preservation hazards (e.g., mold, insect infestation, dampness, etc.); that come with special conditions and constraints we cannot honor; or require extensive processing or treatment. We also do not accept artifacts whose provenance cannot be traced. In other words we will do all due diligence to confirm the history of the item and to ensure that the library does not receive items that were obtained through unethical or exploitative means.
The Knight-Capron Library Archive follows applicable local, state, and federal statutes as well as the guidelines set out by the Society of American Archivists. The Archive is dedicated to advocacy of both the material items and the University of Lynchburg community, actively diversifying the collection to document and preserve the voices of those who have been underrepresented or marginalized, and providing the widest possible accessibility of materials, while respecting legal and ethical access restrictions including public statutes, cultural protections, donor contracts, and privacy requirements.
The Knight-Capron Library Archive is currently undergoing a comprehensive collection assessment and will not receive external donations of physical materials until its completion, which is estimated to be around December 2024. Digital donations may still be made through select archive initiatives such as the College Lake Community Memory Project.
All potential donations of physical materials must be discussed and approved by the Archivist in advance before shipping or delivering items to the library.
Additional Resources
Approved By: Jenny Horton, Library Director
Last Updated: 27 October 2022