Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Collection Management Policy

Internal access to Collection Management Resources

Evaluation

Library staff will complete a periodic review of all digital and print collections in order to replace worn or lost materials, identify gaps, and anticipate future needs. The elimination of such materials that are outdated, inaccurate, or academically unsupportive of current or near-future courses and programs is a necessary part of collection management.  

 

A library resource is considered suitable for deselection if:​

  1. It provides only esoteric or peripheral information to existing University programs and courses
  2. It possesses only information at a graduate or doctoral level in disciplines where the University does not offer a graduate level program
  3. If use data, including circulation and in-house usage counts, and usage data from electronic resources vendors show little or no usage over an extended period of time
  4. If it has been replaced by more current and updated information through another existing resource
  5. If prices of ongoing subscriptions, such as print or electronic periodicals, online indices, and e-books, fail to create affordable ratios of benefits greater than subscription costs

Discard Policy

Discard Policy and Procedures

Library discards are items which are removed from the collection according to the General Collection Management Policy, or items removed due to damage.  Library discards may be disposed at any time by the library. They might be given away for free, or their component parts may be recycled. Withdrawn and discarded items will not be accepted for donation in the future.

Procedures:

Library discards are handled in one of the following ways:​

  • paper material is recycled, the book boards are thrown in the garbage
  • audiovisual material, if too damaged to play, is thrown in the garbage
  • paper material, if water damaged or mold damaged, is bagged and thrown in the garbage
  • former library items that are not damaged in any way may be marked WITHDRAWN with a red stamp and shelved on the free books shelf ("reading recycled") at the Dell entrance to the library; librarians and staff usually evaluate which items are deemed worthy for the free shelf, based on condition and other factors.  

Obsolete Media

Deselection and Weeding of Obsolete Media

Created:  September 19, 2012

Updated:  February 2, 2019

 

Policy:   It is the policy of the Knight-Capron Library to determine if a media format is considered obsolete by the University of Lynchburg community and change its collections accordingly.

A media format is considered obsolete if:

  • Media players for the format have been so heavily upgraded and/or replaced in the majority of campus classrooms that a faculty or staff member does not have a reasonable expectation that the media will be playable
  • Students do not have a reasonable expectation to use the media format regularly,  in class or for pleasure
  • The University chooses not to purchase replacement media players for the format after current players are broken

Procedure:  Media formats are evaluated to see if any of them have become obsolete:

  • Streaming media on an Internet platform (digital and streaming)
  • Downloaded media on a device (digital and downloadable)
  • Digital video discs (DVDs) (digital and physical)
  • Digital video discs random optical memory (DVD-ROMS)  (digital and physical)
  • Compact discs (CDs) (digital and physical)
  • Compact discs random optical memory (CD-ROMS)  (digital and physical)
  • VHS video cassette tapes (analog and physical) –  OBSOLETE
  • Tape cassettes (analog and physical) –  OBSOLETE
  • Vinyl records (analog and physical)  - OBSOLETE
  • Reel-to-reel tapes (analog and physical)   OBSOLETE

Once considered obsolete, the following procedures change the library’s collections:

  1. The physical format is no longer purchased actively by the library or considered for donations from patrons
  2. Contact faculty/teaching staff regarding individual title replacements to an updated format
  3. Solicit library liaison input on commercial or in-house replacements in an updated format – older format to newer format, same title – based on liaison area/curricular needs
  4. Solicit weeding advice based on liaison area/curricular needs
  5. Replacing older media format with new media format (same subject, different titles)
  6. Weeding of non-circulating items
  7. Identify and transfer any special interest titles to special collections/archives of University of Lynchburg, even if they cannot be upgraded to newer format

 

At the end of the format’s life cycle, identify “death” date for a format – a time after earlier ideas (a-f) have been performed and withdraw last remaining titles, repurpose locations (if possible). Donate or offer for free last remaining titles