Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Collection Management Policy

Internal access to Collection Management Resources

Selection Criteria

Knight-Capron Library selects library resources based upon a number of selection criteria. While the preferred method is to base purchase of an item on an objective review that indicates its appropriateness for the University’s students and curriculum, other methods include development of new curricula and subsequent support needs, personal knowledge of an author or creator, the suitability of a journal or electronic resource, the need to strengthen the library’s  collections in specific subject areas based upon reviews of the existing collections and the inventory of items available.

The library does not select materials based on surrounding community needs as a sole predictor of use and appropriateness.  Patrons are directed to local public libraries and local historical collections for those needs.

Gifts

Gifts from individuals, publishers, or other sources can enhance the relevance and richness of the collections in Knight-Capron Library. Donors will fill out the Gift form (link) and agree to terms by signature. It is not possible or sustainable to retain every item donated to the library.

 

A gift item is added to the collection if it meets all of the following criteria:

  1. Represents a topic relevant to the University’s current curriculum;
  2. The item is not an exact duplicate of an item already in the collection; (In certain cases the gift item may replace an existing item in the collection if it is in better physical condition than the existing item)
  3. The item is in a format that is currently supported by the University.

Gifts of journal or magazine subscriptions are not accepted.

 

Gifts dealing with a particular discipline will be reviewed by the liaison librarian for that discipline who will determine which items are to be added to the collections.  

 

Gifts containing items covering a range of disciplines will be reviewed by the Director of the Library, who, depending upon the specific circumstances, may consult with one of more liaison librarians.

 

The library retains the right to determine which gifts to retain.  Neither the library nor the University can legally estimate the value of gifts.

 

While infrequent, major donations are often handled by the University Office of Advancement and the library.  Details about these gifts are handled on a case-by- basis.

Duplicate Copies

Occasions when there is a need for more than one copy of an item are extremely rare.  Thus, in general, the library does not hold more than one copy of any item. The Director of the Library makes the final decision on duplicate copies.

Approval Plans

Knight-Capron Library maintains a set of approval plans with vendors.  These agreements provide for the automatic receipt of new materials matching predetermined specifications which consist of publisher lists, subject profiles such as education, health sciences, and business, and other terms governing such parameters as academic level, edition, language, and price.  Approval plan books are periodically reviewed by both liaisons and faculty members and selected for inclusion in the collection or returned to the vendor.

 

Interlibrary Loan Requests

Each year, the Director of the Library reviews the ILL requests for items not available in the collections submitted by students and faculty. The review of interlibrary loan requests is one way of determining the collections’ strengths or weaknesses, as well as suggesting additional avenues of near-future collection.

Library Liaisons

Each College and/or School division will be assigned a liaison within the library with which to discuss and evaluate materials to support curriculum and studies in that area of study.

Choice Reviews

Choice Reviews contains objective, high-quality reviews of academic resources, and is utilized by librarians in the evaluation of resources for purchase.