Welcome to Knight-Capron Library! We're so glad you're here. This guide is intended to give you an overview of the resources available in your subject area and to serve as a starting place for your research.
Know exactly what you're looking for? Use the quick links below or the A-Z Databases list!
Questions? Please reach out to your library liaison, Abby Skinner!
In order to access article databases from off-campus, you will need to authenticate yourself as a University of Lynchburg student. You can do this by selecting the database you need from the A-Z Databases List and entering your Lynchburg computing credentials.
Please note: Your username is your UL email address, but only the information before the @.
Created by physicians for use primarily at the 'point-of-care', the DynaMed App is updated daily and monitors the content of over 500 medical journals and systematic-review databases.
NOTE: You must follow these steps every 90 days to retain access
1. To authenticate, access the Library's Desktop version of DynaMed from the Database A-Z List and create a personal account using the "sign in" link at the upper portion of the screen). NOTE: you must sign in or create an account using the Desktop version link for DynaMed to authenticate on the University of Lynchburg network.
2. If not already installed: download the free DynaMed app from the App store or Google Play.
3. From your mobile device, sign into DynaMed using the personal account you created.
4. For first time users, the DynaMed App opens on your device and begins the initial content download.
NOTE: It is recommended that you are on a Wi-Fi connection for the initial download of DynaMed content as well as when updates become available.
Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research. It allows you to find articles, theses, abstracts, and court opinions. Articles for which we have paid access will have @ University of Lynchburg linked in the margin.
When you are off-campus, Google Scholar will forget that we are your home library. So, in order to keep finding University of Lynchburg resources, follow the steps below to set up your library links:
Why not ask the author? The e-mail address and/or institutional affiliation is attached to the citation. Asking is especially helpful for when you don't have any other way to access the full text!
 |
 |
 |
 |
AMA referencing style was created by the American Medical Association for the purpose of writing medical research. For formatting help and citation examples, try New York Medical College
Citing Dynamed in AMA
Zotero is a free and open-source reference management software to manage bibliographic data and related research materials. For help downloading and navigating Zotero, check out the Zotero Library Guide.
Exporting references from PubMed to RefWorks requires a few extra steps. Watch the tutorial below to learn more.
**UPDATE**
We now know that PubMed does not get along well with the RefWorks Browser Extension. Using the browser extension in PubMed results in sluggish response, error messages, and failure to import resources. ProQuest is aware of the problem, and attempting to resolve it. There is a way to bypass the browser extension and export citations directly from PubMed to Refworks. Use the links below for instructions that walk you through the steps.
Still having problems? Let us know by contacting Katie Glaeser!
Without a well-focused question, it can be difficult and time consuming to identify appropriate resources and search for relevant evidence. Practitioners of Evidence-Based Practice (EBP) often used a specialized framework, called PICO to form the question and facilitate the literature search. PICO stands for,
When should you use PICO?
Why should you use PICO?
DMSc Technology Overview - this page is updated and maintained by the DMSc program. Here you can find links to activate your technology account and to download Microsoft 365.
*Please note, Lean Library is no longer available. Instead, we recommend you download LibKey Nomad.
In order to access article databases from off-campus, you will need to authenticate yourself as a University of Lynchburg student. You can do this by selecting the database you need from the A-Z Databases and entering your Lynchburg computing credentials.
Please note: Your username is your UL email address, but only the information before the @.
One-click access to the full-text PDF of millions of scholarly articles.
LibKey Nomad is a browser plug-in for Chrome that automatically provides instant links to full text content for articles that we subscribe to (or open access alternatives) as you do research on the web and come across literature. In each case, Nomad works behind-the-scenes with the library to figure out the fastest path to content across thousands of publisher websites. Special enhancement is also performed in-line on sites like PubMed and Wikipedia. After installation, LibKey Nomad prompts you to select your subscribing institution. After that, it simply automatically scans for scholarly content wherever you may roam.
**NOTE: LibKey Nomad replaces the library's former subscription to Lean Library. If you have the Lean Library plugin still, please remove it from your browser.**
