Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Physician Assistant DMSc: PA 961-963 | Doctoral Project I, II, III

Online course that specifically provides research assistance to distance education students in DMSc, along with several DPAM residential students.

DMSc Guide Home

DMSc Library Guide

Welcome to Knight-Capron Library! We're so glad you're here. This guide is intended to give you an overview of the resources available in your subject area and to serve as a starting place for your research.


Know exactly what you're looking for? Use the quick links below or the A-Z Databases list!  

Questions?? Please reach out to your library liaison, Abby Lowery

 

Quick Links

Profile Photo
Abby Skinner
She / Her / Hers
Contact:
skinner_a@lynchburg.edu
434.544.8399

Finding Articles

In order to access article databases from off-campus, you will need to authenticate yourself as a University of Lynchburg student. You can do this by selecting the database you need from the A-Z Databases List and entering your Lynchburg computing credentials. 

Please note: Your username is your UL email address, but only the information before the @. 

Finding Articles

Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.  It allows you to find articles, theses, abstracts, and court opinions. Articles for which we have paid access will have @ University of Lynchburg linked in the margin.


When you are off-campus, Google Scholar will forget that we are your home library.  So, in order to keep finding University of Lynchburg resources, follow the steps below to set up your library links:

  1. Go to scholar.google.com
  2. Click the menu icon
  3. Select settings from the list
  4. Click on library links
  5. Search for Lynchburg
  6. Select the University of Lynchburg
  7. Save

Google Scholar GIF

Database Apps

Created by physicians for use primarily at the 'point-of-care', the DynaMed App is updated daily and monitors the content of over 500 medical journals and systematic-review databases.  

MOBILE ACCESS INSTRUCTIONS

NOTE: You must follow these steps every 90 days to retain access

1. To authenticate, access the Library's Desktop version of DynaMed from the Database A-Z List and create a personal account using the "sign in" link at the upper portion of the screen). NOTE: you must sign in or create an account using the Desktop version link for DynaMed to authenticate on the University of Lynchburg network.

 

2.  If not already installed: download the free DynaMed app from the App store or Google Play.

 

3.  From your mobile device, sign into DynaMed using the personal account you created.

4.  For first time users, the DynaMed App opens on your device and begins the initial content download.     

NOTE: It is recommended that you are on a Wi-Fi connection for the initial download of DynaMed content as well as when updates become available.

Find answers to your clinical questions anytime, anywhere with UpToDate Mobile Apps

MOBILE ACCESS INSTRUCTIONS

NOTE: You must follow these steps every 90 days to retain access

1.  To authenticate, access the Library's Desktop Version of UptoDate from the Database A-Z List and create a personal account using the "sign in" link at the upper portion of the screen). NOTE: you must sign in or create an account using the Desktop version link for UptoDate to authenticate on the University of Lynchburg network. 

2.  Download the app from iTunes or Google Play. 

3. Login to the app with the username/password you created

* If you have an existing UpToDate username and password, please make sure you have logged in at least once to a computer on the University of Lynchburg network before downloading the App. 

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan

  • What is ILL? Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a free service for obtaining materials not available through the University of Lynchburg Library. 
  • How do I submit a request? Requests can be submitted through the ILL request page. Click on the paper airplane icon to start a request. You will need your UL computing account username and password. 
  • Once I submit my request, how long will it take?  Between 24 hours and 10 business days. 
  • Can I move my request up in priority?  Loan requests are handled on a first-come, first-served basis.
  • If this process takes too long, what are my alternatives?  

Why not ask the author?  The e-mail address and/or institutional affiliation is attached to the citation.  Asking is especially helpful for when you don't have any other way to access the full text!

 

Citations

Citations

AMA referencing style was created by the American Medical Association for the purpose of writing medical research. For formatting help and citation examples, try New York Medical College

Citing UptoDate in AMA

  • The AMA style guide does not provide guidance on citing an entry from the point of care database, UptoDate. Instead, UptoDate provides their own instructions, 
  • Cite the UpToDate topic review as a chapter in a book titled UpToDate, edited by T. W. Post, published by UpToDate in Waltham, MA. As a CD-ROM or online service, there are no page numbers to cite. Since UpToDate is released every four months, the publication year for any topic review should be the current year.
  • Bichet DG. Diagnosis of polyuria and diabetes insipidus. In: Post T, ed. UpToDate. Waltham, Mass.: UpToDate; 2014. www.uptodate.com. Accessed August 13, 2014

Citing Dynamed in AMA

 

Zotero is a free and open-source reference management software to manage bibliographic data and related research materials. For help downloading and navigating Zotero, check out the Zotero Library Guide.

Exporting references from PubMed to RefWorks requires a few extra steps. Watch the tutorial below to learn more. 

**UPDATE**

We now know that PubMed does not get along well with the RefWorks Browser Extension.  Using the browser extension in PubMed results in sluggish response, error messages, and failure to import resources. ProQuest is aware of the problem, and attempting to resolve it. There is a way to bypass the browser extension and export citations directly from PubMed to Refworks.  Use the links below for instructions that walk you through the steps. 


Still having problems? Let us know by contacting Katie Glaeser!

PICO Framework

PICO Framework

Without a well-focused question, it can be difficult and time consuming to identify appropriate resources and search for relevant evidence. Practitioners of Evidence-Based Practice (EBP) often used a specialized framework, called PICO to form the question and facilitate the literature search. PICO stands for,

When should you use PICO?

  • In academia when you are looking for evidence to support best practice
  • In practice when you have a question about patient care

Why should you use PICO?

  • Helps you form a focused question that will return relevant results
  • Helps you retrieve a manageable amount of results
  • Assists you in brainstorming keywords for your research
  • Saves time!

Technology

Technology

DMSc Technology Overview - this page is updated and maintained by the DMSc program. Here you can find links to activate your technology account and to download Microsoft 365.

*Please note, Lean Library is no longer available. Instead, we recommend you download LibKey Nomad

In order to access article databases from off-campus, you will need to authenticate yourself as a University of Lynchburg student. You can do this by selecting the database you need from the A-Z Databases and entering your Lynchburg computing credentials. 

Please note: Your username is your UL email address, but only the information before the @. 

 

 

 

 

 

One-click access to the full-text PDF of millions of scholarly articles.

LibKey Nomad is a browser plug-in for Chrome that automatically provides instant links to full text content for articles that we subscribe to (or open access alternatives) as you do research on the web and come across literature.  In each case, Nomad works behind-the-scenes with the library to figure out the fastest path to content across thousands of publisher websites. Special enhancement is also performed in-line on sites like PubMed and Wikipedia. After installation, LibKey Nomad prompts you to select your subscribing institution.  After that, it simply automatically scans for scholarly content wherever you may roam.

**NOTE: LibKey Nomad replaces the library's former subscription to Lean Library.  If you have the Lean Library plugin still, please remove it from your browser.**

 LibKey Nomad on Wikipedia    LibKey Nomad on PubMed 

  • Are you seeing an error message when using the RefWorks add-on in Google docs? You may have missed an update. Try un-installing the add-on and then re-installing it. 

https://support.google.com/docs/answer/2942256?co=GENIE.Platform%3DDesktop&hl=en


  • We now know that PubMed does not get along well with the RefWorks Browser Extension.  Using the browser extension in PubMed results in sluggish response, error messages, and failure to import resources. ProQuest is aware of the problem, and attempting to resolve it. There is a way to bypass the browser extension and export citations directly from PubMed to Refworks.  Use the links below for instructions that walk you through the steps. 
  • New Interface
  • Legacy Interface
  • Getting a 413 Error Code when trying to open RefWorks? Clearing your cache should take care of the error. 

 

Textbooks

Below, you will find links to your textbooks. Link not working?  Please let us know so that we can fix it! 

DMSC TEXTBOOKS

Jonas' Introduction to the U. S. Health Care System, 8th Edition

Jonas' Introduction to the U. S. Health Care System, 8th Edition

*Note: This title is not available via the library - link leads to Amazon.

The Healing of America

The Healing of America

*Note: This title is not available via the library - link leads to Amazon.

Health Law, 3rd Ed.

Health Law, 3rd Ed.

*Note: This title is not available via the library - link leads to publisher site.

Health Law: Cases, Materials and Problems, 8th

Health Law: Cases, Materials and Problems, 8th

*Note: This title is not available via the library - link leads to publisher site.

Ciottone's Disaster Medicine

Ciottone's Disaster Medicine

*Note: This title is not available via the library - link leads to publisher site.

Wilderness Survival

Wilderness Survival

*Note: This title is not available via the library - link leads to Amazon.

Millions Saved

Millions Saved

*Note: This title is not available via the library - link leads to Amazon.

Global Health 101 4th ed.

Global Health 101 4th ed.

*Note: This title is not available via the library - link leads to publisher site.

A Practical Guide for Medical Teachers

*Note: This title is not available via the library - link leads to publisher site.

Remediation of the Struggling Medical Learner

Remediation of the Struggling Medical Learner

*Note: This title is not available via the library - link leads to purchase site.

How to Become an Effective Course Director

How to Become an Effective Course Director

*Note: This title is not available via the library - link leads to publisher site.

Curriculum Development for Medical Education

Curriculum Development for Medical Education

*Note: This title is not available via the library - link leads to purchase site.

PA 960 | Evidence-Based Medicine

Basic and Clinical Biostatistics

AMA Manual of Style

PA 910 | Organizational Behavior and Leadership

Organizational Behavior in Health Care

AMA Manual of Style

PA 961-963 | Doctoral Project I, II, III

AMA Manual of Style

PA 950 | Healthcare Law

Health Law, 3rd ed.

Health Law: Cases, Materials, and Problems, 8th ed.

PA 930 | Disaster Medicine

Ciottone's Disaster Medicine, 2nd

Wilderness Survival, 2nd Ed.

PA 940 | Global Health Issues

Infections and Inequalities: The Modern Plagues

Global Health 101 3rd ed.

PA 915 | Principles of Management for Health Professionals

Management Principles for Health Professionals (8th Ed.).

PA 990-992 | PA Education Certificate

A Practical Guide for Medical Teachers

How to Become an Effective Course Director

Remediation of the Struggling Medical Learner Medical Education

Curriculum Development for Medical Education

PA 975-978 | PA Education Practicum I, II, III, IV

A Practical Guide for Medical Teachers

Remediation of the Struggling Medical Learner Medical Education

How to Become an Effective Course Director

Electives | APP Textbook List