Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Influence of Psychological Trauma in Nursing
The Influence of Psychological Trauma in Nursing by
The Influence of Psychological Trauma in Nursing helps nurses gain awareness and knowledge about trauma and recovery so they can heal and bring holistic healing to others. Authors Karen J. Foli and John R. Thompson provide a primer on psychological trauma, helping readers identify and understand the common forms of trauma in society
Feminist Manifestos by
Feminist Manifestos is an unprecedented collection of 150 documents from feminist organizations and gatherings in over 50 countries over the course of three centuries. In the first book of its kind, the manifestos are shown to contain feminist theory and recommend actions for change, and also to expand our very conceptions of feminist thought and activism. Covering issues from political participation, education, religion and work to reproduction, violence, racism, and environmentalism, the manifestos together challenge simplistic definitions of gender and feminist movements in exciting ways. In a wide-ranging introduction, Penny Weiss explores the value of these documents, especially how they speak with and to each other. In addition, an introduction to each individual document contextualizes and enhances our understanding of it. Weiss is particularly invested in how communities work together toward social change, which is demonstrated through her choice to include only collectively authored texts. By assembling these documents into an accessible volume, Weiss reveals new possibilities for social justice and ways to advocate for equality. A unique and inspirational collection, Feminist Manifestos expands and evolves our understanding of feminism through the self-described agendas of women from every ethnic group, religion, and region in the world.
The Psychology of Global Citizenship
The Psychology of Global Citizenship by
Publication Date: 2018-10-15
In The Psychology of Global Citizenship: A Review of Theory and Research, Stephen Reysen and Iva Katzarska-Miller provide a theoretical and empirical overview of global citizenship and related concepts. The authors highlight core components shared by a variety of disciplines and cultures and linked to pro-social values, such as the promotion of empathy, diversity, environmental sustainability, and intergroup helping. Utilizing a social psychological perspective, Reysen and Katzarska-Miller provide an integrated approach to global citizenship identification with their model of antecedents (global awareness and normative environment) and outcomes (six clusters of pro-social values).
The Opioid Epidemic : Tracking a Crisis
The Opioid Epidemic by
Publication Date: 2018-08-15
The United States is currently suffering the worst addiction crisis in history. Addiction to opioids, including prescription painkillers, heroin, and illegal synthetic opioids, is ravaging the country, destroying families, homes, and communities in its path. This riveting collection of articles tracks the opioid crisis from its earliest days through the present, aggregating human interest stories with news stories on how the government and public are responding to the epidemic. With such breadth of journalism examining the causes, impact, and response to the crisis, this collection offers readers a comprehensive approach to an unfortunately frequent topic of headlines.
A Confucian Constitutional Order : How China's Ancient Past Can Shape Its Political Future
A Confucian Constitutional Order by
Publication Date: 2012-10-28
As China continues to transform itself, many assume that the nation will eventually move beyond communism and adopt a Western-style democracy. But could China develop a unique form of government based on its own distinct traditions? Jiang Qing--China's most original, provocative, and controversial Confucian political thinker--says yes. In this book, he sets out a vision for a Confucian constitutional order that offers a compelling alternative to both the status quo in China and to a Western-style liberal democracy. A Confucian Constitutional Order is the most detailed and systematic work on Confucian constitutionalism to date. Jiang argues against the democratic view that the consent of the people is the main source of political legitimacy. Instead, he presents a comprehensive way to achieve humane authority based on three sources of political legitimacy, and he derives and defends a proposal for a tricameral legislature that would best represent the Confucian political ideal. He also puts forward proposals for an institution that would curb the power of parliamentarians and for a symbolic monarch who would embody the historical and transgenerational identity of the state. In the latter section of the book, four leading liberal and socialist Chinese critics--Joseph Chan, Chenyang Li, Wang Shaoguang, and Bai Tongdong--critically evaluate Jiang's theories and Jiang gives detailed responses to their views. A Confucian Constitutional Order provides a new standard for evaluating political progress in China and enriches the dialogue of possibilities available to this rapidly evolving nation. This book will fascinate students and scholars of Chinese politics, and is essential reading for anyone concerned about China's political future.
Elder Justice, Ageism, and Elder Abuse
Elder Justice, Ageism, and Elder Abuse by
Delivering the first comprehensive analysis of elder justice and its implications for policy and practice, this book offers a promising approach that ensures the rights, safety, and security of all older Americans. It explains the antecedents of elder justice in the fields of elder abuse, aging, and public health, and describes the opportunities for achieving more comprehensive, cohesive, and integrated public policy.
Metaliterate Learning for the Post-Truth World
Metaliterate Learning for the Post-Truth World by
Publication Date: 2019-01-01
Metaliteracy is a powerful model for preparing learners to be responsible participants in today's divisive information environment, and this book showcases several teaching and learning practices that have already proven effective. The chapters in this book discuss the social, political, and ethical dimensions of information creation, distribution, and use; use case studies to demonstrate how metaliteracy guides learners to read online information with a critical eye, apply metacognitive thinking to the consumption of all information, and make purposeful and responsible contributions to the social media ecosystem as active participants; examine when images are taken out of context and paired with misleading text, a prevalent feature of the misinformation frequently shared via social media; and situates metaliteracy in such contexts such as the academic library, a science class, fiction writing, digital storytelling, and a theater arts course.
Islamic Philosophy : An Introduction
Islamic Philosophy by
Publication Date: 2009-11-02
Although Islamic philosophy represents one of the leadingphilosophical traditions in the world, it has only recently begunto receive the attention it deserves in the non-Islamic world. Thisimportant text provides a concise and accessible introduction tothe major movements, thinkers and concepts within that tradition,from the foundation of Islam to the present day. Ever since the growth of Islam as a religious and politicalmovement, Muslim thinkers have sought to understand the theoreticalaspects of their faith by using philosophical concepts. Leamanoutlines this history and demonstrates that, although thedevelopment of Islamic philosophy is closely linked with Islamitself, its form is not essentially connected to any particularreligion, and its leading ideas and arguments are of generalphilosophical significance. The author illustrates the importanceof Islamic thought within philosophy through the use of many modernexamples. He describes and contrasts the three main movements inIslamic philosophy ? Peripatetic, Sufi and Illuminationist ? andexamines the Persian as well as the Arabic traditions. Widecoverage is given to key aspects of Islamic philosophy, includingepistemology, ontology, politics, ethics and philosophy oflanguage, providing readers with a balanced view of the discipline.The second edition has been thoroughly revised and updatedthroughout, including the addition of two new chapters on recentdebates surrounding Islam's need for an enlightenment, and on thefuture of Islamic philosophy. The new edition of Islamic Philosophy will continue to beessential reading for students and scholars of the subject, as wellas anyone wanting to learn more about one of the most significantand influential philosophical traditions in the world today.
The Fearless Organization : Creating Psychological Safety in the Workplace for Learning, Innovation, and Growth
The Fearless Organization by
Publication Date: 2018-11-20
Conquer the most essential adaptation to the knowledge economy The Fearless Organization: Creating Psychological Safety in the Workplace for Learning, Innovation, and Growth offers practical guidance for teams and organizations who are serious about success in the modern economy. With so much riding on innovation, creativity, and spark, it is essential to attract and retain quality talent--but what good does this talent do if no one is able to speak their mind? The traditional culture of "fitting in" and "going along" spells doom in the knowledge economy. Success requires a continuous influx of new ideas, new challenges, and critical thought, and the interpersonal climate must not suppress, silence, ridicule or intimidate. Not every idea is good, and yes there are stupid questions, and yes dissent can slow things down, but talking through these things is an essential part of the creative process. People must be allowed to voice half-finished thoughts, ask questions from left field, and brainstorm out loud; it creates a culture in which a minor flub or momentary lapse is no big deal, and where actual mistakes are owned and corrected, and where the next left-field idea could be the next big thing. This book explores this culture of psychological safety, and provides a blueprint for bringing it to life. The road is sometimes bumpy, but succinct and informative scenario-based explanations provide a clear path forward to constant learning and healthy innovation. Explore the link between psychological safety and high performance Create a culture where it's "safe" to express ideas, ask questions, and admit mistakes Nurture the level of engagement and candor required in today's knowledge economy Follow a step-by-step framework for establishing psychological safety in your team or organization Shed the "yes-men" approach and step into real performance. Fertilize creativity, clarify goals, achieve accountability, redefine leadership, and much more. The Fearless Organization helps you bring about this most critical transformation.