Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Dissertation and Theses Access: Open Access Resources

Open Access

Sites listed below offer open (free) access to dissertations and theses.  Some are full-text and some are only citations.

Australian Digital Theses Program  This site provides both citation and full-text access to a few thousand theses and dissertations published in Australia.

Center for Research Libraries  Twenty thousand doctoral dissertations from outside of the United States and Canada are searchable from this site.  Items can be ordered through ILL by students, faculty, and staff.

The Digital Commons Network has a huge selection of open access ETDs.  Using the limiters in their search interface retrieves over 124,000 theses and dissertations.

Digital Library and Archives  Digital Library and Archives allows searching for citations and abstracts of over 6,700 theses and dissertations.  Free full-text access is provided for over 4,500 of these items.

Directory of History Dissertations in Progress  "The Directory contains 3,804 dissertations in progress at 170 academic departments in Canada and the U.S."  This is a citation database of dissertations in progress in the area of history.

Dissertation.com  Dissertation.com has just a few hundred dissertations and theses in its collection, but the site allows free, full-text access to the first twenty-five pages of each item.

Dissertations Express order your own unbound copies of dissertations and theses with express delivery to your home, school or office. Select from over 1.9 million graduate works available from UMI.

Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology  This is an international database of citations for dissertations in musicology that contains over 12,000 records.  Dissertations are from approximately 1950 to the present.

Electronic Theses and Dissertations Bibliography (ver. 5) Selected English-language articles, books, conference papers, technical reports, unpublished e-prints and other scholarly textual sources that are useful in understanding electronic theses and dissertations.

EThOS  The British Library's Electronic Theses Online Service offers free access to the full text of UK theses, allowing researchers to tap into this rich and vast body of knowledge.  Delivered through a single web interface, the service includes theses stored electronically by the British Library, as well as those held by other universities, and will digitize theses on demand as required by researchers.

NDLTD - Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations   NDLTD provides access to citations from thousands of digital dissertations and theses that are in PDF format.  A significant number of these resources are freely available in full-text and can be viewed online.

OATD Open Access Theses and Dissertations OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 800 colleges, universities, and research institutions.

PhdData: The Universal Index of Dissertations in Progress PhdData has citations from several thousand dissertations in progress from various parts of the world.

Theses Canada Portal  Theses Canada provides access to bibliographic citations for all the theses in the National Library of Canada Theses Collection.  Access to full-text theses is available for all items published between January 1, 1998 and August 31, 2002.

TREN: Theological Research Exchange Network TREN provides citations to 6,800 theological theses/dissertations and conference papers.  Items can then be purchased through this site.  The opening page actually states that they have 10,000 theses/dissertations, but the search page allows searching of 6,800 items.

 

American Doctoral Dissertations