Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Physical Therapy: Get Help

Guide for research interests in physical therapy.

Physical Therapy Resources

Research Skills

The research process has six steps, described below: 


Step 1 | Find a topic you're interested in.

Step 2 | Identify keywords connected to the topic.

Step 3 | Use these keywords to search for articles and books related to the topic in library databases or Google Scholar and scan them to see if they're relevant to your research.

Step 4 | Sometimes, your searches will lead you to change your research topic, which is okay; just go back to Step 2 and identify some new keywords.

Step 5 | Evaluate the sources you've gathered for accuracy and relevance to your topic and cite them properly.

Step 6 | Synthesize the sources you've evaluated into a clear, original thesis statement and write your research paper.

The Research Process

 

These three words (And, Or, Not) are used as connectors between your search terms. They are Boolean Operators.


"And" | Narrows the number and focus of results, and results contain sources with all search terms. For example:

  • "child obesity" and Maryland 
  • "video games" and teens

"Or" | Broadens the number and focus of results, and results contain sources with any of your search terms. It's used with synonyms and related terms. For example:

  • obesity or overweight 
  • children or juveniles

"Not" | Narrows the number and focus of results and eliminates sources containing the term after "not". For example:

  • Washington not DC (for articles about the state.)
Boolean Operators Graphic

 

Determining if a source is credible and reliable can be challenging. Use the SIFT method to help you analyze information, especially news or other online media.


STOP | Do you know anything about the website or source of information you found? What about its reputation? It's purpose? You'll want to know these things before you read it, cite it, or share it on social media. 


INVESTIGATE THE SOURCE | It's important to know the expertise and agenda of your source. Try a Google search of the author or publisher to find out what others say about them. Open multiple tabs. 


FIND TRUSTED COVERAGE | Look for the best information on a topic or scan multiple sources to see what the consensus is. Find something in-depth and read about more viewpoints. Even if you don't agree with the consensus, it will help you to investigate further.


TRACE CLAIMS, QUOTES, & MEDIA | Is there a study or report mentioned in the article? Find the original report to see if it was accurately reported. What about images? A reverse-image search may be necessary. 

Evaluate sources with the SIFT method

 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar | Off-Campus Access

Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.  It allows you to find articles, theses, abstracts, and court opinions. Articles for which we have paid access will have @ University of Lynchburg linked in the margin.


When you are off-campus, Google Scholar will forget that we are your home library.  So, in order to keep finding University of Lynchburg resources, follow the steps below to set up your library links:

  1. Go to scholar.google.com
  2. Click the menu icon
  3. Select settings from the list
  4. Click on library links
  5. Search for Lynchburg
  6. Select the University of Lynchburg
  7. Save

Google Scholar GIF

Get Help

The Knight-Capron librarians offer one-on-one research appointments, both in-person and online, to help you with your research projects. Click the button below to schedule! 


Schedule Your

Research Appointment

Schedule a research appointment

The Wilmer Writing Center assists student researchers with remedial to advanced levels of writing in all fields.  Remember that even professional athletes need coaches! 


Schedule Your

Writing Center Appointment

Writing Center Icon Link

PASS leaders conduct group tutoring sessions multiple times a week and provide drop-in hours to meet individually with any student who would like more assistance.


Check Out

Pass Schedules

Pass Schedules Icon Link

The GO Mentoring Program offers individual assistance to help you develop better organizational skills with course materials, study habits, and more. 


Schedule Your

Go Mentoring Appointment

Go Mentoring Icon Link

The Math Engagement Center (MEC) offers tutoring, both in-person and online, for quantitative courses like Math and Statistics. 


Schedule Your

MEC Appointment

Math Engagement Center Icon Link

Ask a Librarian

Profile Photo
Abby Skinner
She / Her / Hers
Contact:
skinner_a@lynchburg.edu
434.544.8399

Database Tutorials and Tipsheets

Database Tutorials

Database Apps

Created by physicians for use primarily at the 'point-of-care', the DynaMed App is updated daily and monitors the content of over 500 medical journals and systematic-review databases.  

MOBILE ACCESS INSTRUCTIONS

NOTE: You must follow these steps every 90 days to retain access

1. To authenticate, access the Library's Desktop version of DynaMed from the Database A-Z List and create a personal account using the "sign in" link at the upper portion of the screen). NOTE: you must sign in or create an account using the Desktop version link for DynaMed to authenticate on the University of Lynchburg network.

 

2.  If not already installed: download the free DynaMed app from the App store or Google Play.

 

3.  From your mobile device, sign into DynaMed using the personal account you created.

4.  For first time users, the DynaMed App opens on your device and begins the initial content download.     

NOTE: It is recommended that you are on a Wi-Fi connection for the initial download of DynaMed content as well as when updates become available.

Find answers to your clinical questions anytime, anywhere with UpToDate Mobile Apps

MOBILE ACCESS INSTRUCTIONS

NOTE: You must follow these steps every 90 days to retain access

1.  To authenticate, access the Library's Desktop Version of UptoDate from the Database A-Z List and create a personal account using the "sign in" link at the upper portion of the screen). NOTE: you must sign in or create an account using the Desktop version link for UptoDate to authenticate on the University of Lynchburg network. 

2.  Download the app from iTunes or Google Play. 

3. Login to the app with the username/password you created

* If you have an existing UpToDate username and password, please make sure you have logged in at least once to a computer on the University of Lynchburg network before downloading the App.