Skip to main content

Library 101: Library Top 10

Top 10

10. Cool Spaces

 

The library is more than just a place to checkout a book or print a paper (although we do that stuff, too!). Come work on your assignments at our computers, study cubes, or study carrels (find out about reserving a carrel for an entire semester here). Our entire 2nd floor is quiet!

 

Working on a group project? Reserve one of our five tech-equipped group study rooms (here) or grab a booth and use our Mobile Technology Unit or moveable whiteboards to collaborate.

 

9. 24 Hour Computer Lab

 

After hours? No worries. We have a 24 hour computer lab that is accessed with your Lynchburg ID. Check out our other after-hours resources here.

 

8. Fun Stuff

 

We are serious about academics, but we also like to have fun. Drop by the library to play or checkout games, view our interactive displays, or attend events. From puzzles to collaborative coloring, chess to Bananagrams, and Haikubes to magnetic poetry, there is something fun for everyone.

 

7. Curriculum Lab

 

Located on our 2nd floor, the Summers-Clopper Curriculum Lab is a bright room full of picture books, young adult fiction, and teaching resources for our Education majors. The Curriculum Lab is also home to our mini-makerspace. Drop in during library hours to quietly read, study, color, or play with legos.

 

6. Social Media

 

Are you on Social Media? So are we. Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Snapchat, Flickr, Pinterest, or YouTube to get the latest and greatest from your friendly librarians at Knight-Capron Library.

 

5. Refworks

 

RefWorks is an online citation management software that allows you to create and save your personal database by importing references straight from OneSearch, other Library databases, Google Scholar, websites, and more! Download the RefWorks plug-in for Google Docs or Microsoft Word to cite while you write. Tell RefWorks what citation style you are working with and watch as it automatically formats the paper and the bibliography in seconds.

 

4. Collection

 

The Knight-Capron Library Collection includes over 465,000 print and electronic editions and over 10,200 multimedia titles. Search through these items and more in our catalog. We also subscribe to 106 academic databases that include over 300,000 individual journal titles. You can browse these items both on and off campus through our website. Try using OneSearch, or search articles by subject, through the find journals tab, or in the select a database tab.

 

3. Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

 

Do you need an item that we don’t have? Use our Interlibrary Loan Service. When you request an article or a book, another library sends us the item and we can check it out to you. Sounds too good to be true, right? Well, it gets better. This service is fast and (in most cases) provided at no cost to you!

 

2. Technology

 

Need to print, scan, copy, or fax? You can do all of that and more, right here in the library. Utilize the various computers throughout the library (including those in our 24 hour computer lab) to study, do homework, or even just to kill some time between classes. Want to check out a laptop or an iPad? No problem. Come see us at the circulation desk. Need to collaborate with a group? Use our Mobile Technology Unit and our moveable whiteboards. Need to charge your devices? We have charging lockers and various chargers available for checkout, as well.

 

1. Staff

 

Librarians - the original search engines. Need we say more? Yes? Ok.  With combined years of library experience dangerously close to 150, our library staff provides service to the University of Lynchburg community with abundant resources and positive attitudes.