Knight-Capron Library

Digital Showcase Policies: Access Restrictions

Open Access is the Default

By default, all content in Digital Showcase will be visible and fully accessible to public users—this includes both the metadata record and the full-text (i.e. complete digital content) for individual items. However, in certain circumstances, it may be necessary or appropriate to place access restrictions on individual items or content collections. For example, a publisher may require an embargo of six to twelve months before making a journal article publicly accessible.

Access restrictions in Digital Showcase may be requested during the submission process by an individual contributor or by the academic unit, or office, from which a content collection was produced. Access restrictions requested by student contributors must be approved by their school, program, or department, as appropriate. The Knight-Capron Library may also impose access restrictions on content in response to concerns about unlawful or unethical content (see Content Policies). Access may be restricted either at the individual item level or at the collection level.

Levels of Restrictions

There are currently two levels of access restrictions available for content in Digital Showcase:

  • Limited access: The full-text of content may be downloaded only from a computer within the IP range of a Lynchburg College campus. This can include off-campus access via a proxy server.
  • Embargoed access: The full-text of content is embargoed (i.e. accessible to no one) for a specific period of time, but the metadata record is publicly visible.

 

On-campus access and closed access are available both for individual items and for entire content collections. It is important to note that the on-campus access option must be configured at the collection level, which means that no content in that collection will be visible in the Digital Commons Network (though it will still be indexed by search engines)—even individual items within the collection that have been set to open access. 

Corrections and Withdrawals

Digital Showcase is intended to provide persistent access to scholarly and creative works—to serve as an authoritative record of each work’s provenance and to maintain a reliable version of record for each work. As such, items contributed to Digital Showcase should be considered permanent additions to the scholarly record. However, in some instances, it may be appropriate to provide access to a corrected version of a work or to withdraw a work from Digital Showcase. The options for correction or withdrawal will vary upon the nature of the work and the unique circumstances of the request for such action.

Withdrawals

In order to preserve the integrity and accuracy of the scholarly record, works contributed to Digital Showcase will only be withdrawn under limited circumstances. Such circumstances include notification by an author, contributor, or other affected party that a work: (a) contains factual inaccuracies, (b) contains plagiarism, (c) infringes on copyright or any other intellectual property right, (d) infringes on an individual or corporate privacy right, or (e) includes defamatory statements. [Note: Works will not be withdrawn if the contributing author (i.e. faculty or staff member) leaves the employ of Lynchburg College (in such cases, updated contact information may be added to the record, but the item metadata and access will not be changed).]

Any request for withdrawal must be made to the Scholarly Communications and Digital Services Librarian. Requests based on claims of copyright infringement will be subject to the Digital Showcase Take-Down Policy; requests based on claims of defamation will be handled as described in the Defamation section. All other requests are subject to the following procedures:

 

  • Requests for withdrawal may be made by authors or contributors of the work in question, or by any other affected party.
  • Request must be made in writing.
  • Pending a final determination, full-text access to the work in question will be temporarily disabled for all users.
  • No content will be permanently removed from Digital Showcase without an attempt to reach the author.
  • All determinations as to permanent withdrawal will be made within (10) working days of the initial request.

If it is determined that a work should be withdrawn from Digital Showcase, full-text access to that work will be removed permanently for all users. However, in order to preserve the scholarly record—and because the withdrawn work may have been cited using the Digital Showcase URL—a metadata “tombstone” will be maintained at the original URL. This will include the original metadata for the work, as well as a note in the record that describes the purpose for the withdrawal: either “Removed at author’s request”, “Removed at Lynchburg College Libraries’ discretion”, or “Removed by legal order”

This metadata record will be visible, but will be removed from further indexing by Web search enginesand made unavailable for metadata harvesting.

Changing Access Levels

If an individual contributor or academic unit, office, or external entity for which a content collection was produced wishes to change the access level for an item or collection, such a request must be made in writing to the Scholarly Communications and Research Services Librarian.

Renewing Access Restrictions

If an access restriction on an item or collection has been set for a specific period of time, the access level will automatically revert to open access at the expiration of the restricted period, unless the Scholarly Communications and Research Services Librarian is notified in writing at least 48 hours in advance by the individual or group who contributed the content in question. The contributing individual or group is responsible for renewing a temporary restriction; no reminders will be sent by the Knight-Capron Library prior to the time period lapsing.

Corrections or Retractions of Published Works

In order to ensure that all users who access scholarly articles (pre-prints, post-prints, or published PDFs) through Digital Showcase have an avenue to be apprised of corrections or retractions made by the article’s publisher, the DOI or other persistent identifier that links to the article on the publisher’s website will be provided within the metadata for each article posted in Digital Showcase.

If the Knight-Capron Library is notified of a correction or retraction to a published article, an appropriate prominent notation will be made in the Digital Showcase record and a link to the notice of correction or retraction provided within the metadata for that article. If possible for corrected articles, an updated version of the article will be posted, and access to the original version will be maintained as a supplemental file. For retracted articles, access to the original version will be maintained, but a watermark will be added to the document to indicate its retraction by the publisher.

Correction or Withdrawal of Unpublished Works

Corrections and Revised Editions

 

In general, corrections to unpublished works* contributed to Digital Showcase will only be permitted if the error(s) for which correction is requested by the author(s) seriously affect the scholarly record (e.g., if accuracy/intended meaning, scientific reproducibility, or author reputation is judged to be compromised). Errors in an unpublished work that do not affect the contribution in a material way (e.g. minor grammatical or typographical errors that do not affect the meaning of the work), and that were not introduced by the Knight-Capron Library in the process of posting the work to Digital Showcase, will usually not be corrected. In instances where a correction is made to a work, the corrected work will be made available as the primary download, but an errata note will be added to the metadata record that describes that nature of the correction and the date the corrected work became available. The original version of the work will be retained within Digital Showcase, but will not be visible or accessible to users.

In some cases, a contributor may request that a revised edition of a posted work be made available. A revised edition of a work is distinguished from a corrected work in that new or updated content is added to the original work for a purpose other than correcting an error. For example, an author may add new content to an open textbook or open educational resource. In such cases, the revised edition of the work may either (a) replace the original edition, but with access to the original edition retained as a supplemental file, or (b) be uploaded as a new item with a distinct metadata record that includes an appropriate version statement and a link back to the original/previous edition. In the latter instance, the metadata record (and potentially cover/title page) for the original/previous edition will be amended to include a prominent link to the newer edition.

Requests for corrections or uploading of a revised edition of a work should be made to the Scholarly Communications and Digital Services Librarian.

*This does not include pre-prints or post-prints of works that were published in a final form elsewhere; providing a link in the Digital Showcase metadata record to the final published work is considered sufficient. Corrections or retractions of the final published article will be addressed as described in the previous section.