Knight-Capron Library

Digital Showcase Policies: Content Administration

Selection and Submission

The Scholarly Communications & Research Services Librarian and the other liaison librarians within the Knight-Capron Library, are all responsible for:

  • communicating the purpose of Digital Showcase to faculty, staff, and students 
  • identifying and recruiting content for inclusion in Digital Showcase.

 

Content may be submitted to Digital Showcase directly by contributors or by library staff on behalf of contributors. Submission by contributors requires the creation of a personal account within Digital Showcase.

 

Submitted content is routed into a mediated publication queue; content will not be posted to Digital Showcase until the following is verified:

  • The contributor is eligible (see Eligibility to Contribute and Requirements for External Contributors);
  • The content has been submitted to the appropriate collection;
  • All metadata required for the specific collection has been supplied;
  • The contributor has completed the Digital Showcase submission agreement (as part of the online submission process for direct submissions, or as a separate document for mediated submissions); and
  • The file(s) supplied is the correct version, is not corrupted/unreadable, and (in the case of previously published work) does not violate publishers’ posting policies.
  • All student works have been approved by faculty from the appropriate department or program 

Undergraduate Student Submitted Content Management

Although the Scholarly Communications Librarian is ultimately responsible for the administration of content in Digital Showcase, submissions by students will always be reviewed by faculty in the appropriate department or program prior to submission.

  • Each academic department or program will establish the standards for acceptance of student works in their area.
  • Each undergraduate submission form will include the name of the faculty member that approved the work for submission.
  • Student Scholar Showcase submissions will be accepted only after approval by the student’s faculty mentor.

Editorial Responsibility

Digital Showcase is open to eligible scholarly and creative work, whether or not that work has undergone external peer-review prior to submission.

The Knight-Capron Library does not provide editorial support or facilitate peer review for content in the repository. Individuals submitting work to Digital Showcase, whether through an online submission form or through an administrator-mediated submission, are solely responsible for the content of their work. While the Knight-Capron Library reserves the right to request assurances or relevant documentation from submitting authors related to the legality of their submissions (and to delay posting until said assurances or documentation are received), Digital Showcase administrators do not systematically review the content of submissions for compliance with intellectual property, privacy, or other applicable law.

Though works from Knight-Capron Library-published journals are accessible through the Digital Showcase platform, content submitted to a journal is subject solely to the editorial and peer review policies of that journal and is not received or administered through the same workflows as content submitted for inclusion in repository collections.

Content Management

Content Management

 

Excluding editorial oversight (other than determining that submitted content complies with the Digital Showcase collection parameters and policies), the Scholarly Communications & Research Services Librarian is responsible for managing content in Digital Showcase.  Core content management responsibilities are:

 

  • Creating, and configuring, standard content collections, as well as any collections requested and approved by the Lynchburg College community or its collaborators;
  • Managing the creation, and consistent application, of relevant metadata to improve discovery and access of content collections;
  • Facilitating the submission and posting process for content collections;
  • Obtaining and preserving appropriate license agreements from contributors;
  • Maintaining the integrity of the ‘version of record’ for individual works included in Digital Showcase (consistent with Corrections and Withdrawals);
  • Determining appropriate access restrictions, if any, for individual works or content collections, and ensuring that such restrictions are correctly applied;
  • Making determinations on requests to withdraw individual works or collections from Digital Showcase (consistent with Corrections and Withdrawals);
  • Performing an appraisal of long-term preservation needs within twenty (20) years of the creation of each content collection; and
  • Communicating with the Lynchburg College community, and especially with content contributors, regarding updates or changes to the Digital Showcase platform or policies that will affect the access or presentation of their content.