Knight-Capron Library

Digital Showcase Policies: Collection Parameters

Scope

This policy describes the relationship between Digital Showcase and other digital collections held by the Knight-Capron Library, outlines the collection parameters and priorities for Digital Showcase, and provides guidelines for the administration of those collections. Specific processes and workflows for the administration of Digital Showcase are not included in this document.
Although Lynchburg College-published journals and monographs are accessible through the same Digtal Commons platform as Digital Showcase,  such works are not considered part of the repository collections. Policies governing the creation, editorial oversight, and production of Lynchburg College-published journals and monographs are outside the scope of this document.

 

Acknowledgements

A great deal of the content in this policy was adapted from: Pacific University’s CommonKnowledge. The policy statements of the institutional repositories at Coventry University, Grand Valley State University, and Portland State University also served as guides and sources of inspiration.

File Formats: General

Digital Showcase is open to scholarly and creative work in any digital format. Any type of file can be made available for download, including, but not limited to: documents, audio files, video files, image files, and presentation slides.  The following restrictions should be noted:

 

    Full-text indexing of submitted works for the native Digital Showcase search function is available only for those works in Microsoft Word (.doc or .docx) or Adobe PDF (.pdf) format (the latter only if it is text-readable or able to have optical character recognition performed).

    There is currently no formal limitation on the size of files accepted into/distributed through Digital Showcase; however, contributors are encouraged to limit file size to two (2) gigabytes.  Files which would prove difficult for users to efficiently download over slower Internet connections may be compressed and made available as a .zip file.

    There is currently limited support for streaming media in Digital Showcase. If a contributor wishes a media file (audio or video) to be streamed in Digital Showcase, the file must be hosted by the contributor (on a personal or institutional server, YouTube, or Vimeo), and the link provided as part of the Digital Showcase deposit.

    Future format migration will be performed as necessary/as possible. While there are no guarantees as to the persistent integrity of digital file formats, reasonable efforts will be made to maintain the integrity of .doc/.docx, .pdf, .html,  .xml, .gif, .jpeg, .tiff., .aiff, .wav, .mp3, .avi, .mpeg, and .mp4 files (see Preservation for further information).

File Formats: Accessibility

The Knight-Capron Library is committed to making digital content in Digital Showcase accessible to individuals with disabilities.  Individuals contributing content to Digital Showcase should ensure that their files comply with federal accessibility guidelines. Guidelines for individual files types (Microsoft Office Suite, Adobe Acrobat, HTML, and multimedia files) are available at hhs.gov.

Approval of New Content Collections

Digital Showcase contains standard collections for (a) student and (b) faculty work (publications, grey literature, or other general academic work) from each school, department, or other academic unit.  There are also standard collections for culminating student projects (theses, dissertations, capstone projects, etc.) from each school or department, as appropriate.

Additional collections for specific types of content may be created at the request of faculty, staff, or administrators.  New collections can be created in any of four (4) configurations:

 

  • Series: Appropriate for simple organization/dissemination of individual digital files (e.g. articles, posters, media files, etc.).
  • Monograph: Appropriate for organization/dissemination of compound objects (e.g. books with multiple chapters, editions, or translations; or primary objects with multiple supplementary files).
  • Image Gallery: Appropriate for organization/dissemination of digital images.
  • Conference: Appropriate for academic/scholarly meetings, conferences, and events.
  • Proposed content for collections must be consistent with the Digital Showcase collection parameters and priorities outlined in this document. Proposed collections are also subject to the guidelines in Eligibility to Contribute and Requirements for External Contributors below.

 

All new collection requests will be reviewed by the Scholarly Communications & Digital Services Librarian, and may be subject to the approval of the Digital Showcase Policy Committee. Collection requests that do not meet the requirements of this policy may be granted in exceptional circumstances and as resources allow.

Policy Revisions

This policy is reviewed by the Scholarly Communications Librarian on an annual basis. Proposed policy revisions will be reviewed by the Digital Showcase Policy Committee; final approval is provided by the Policy Committee.

Collection Dates

Digital Showcase primarily serves as a mechanism for collecting the scholarly and creative work of students, faculty, and staff, created during such individuals’ period of employment or study at Lynchburg College. While employed at Lynchburg College, faculty members and staff may also request the inclusion of work completed prior to their arrival at the College.

*Subject to the format guidelines outlined in this policy.

Open Access

Digital Showcase is an open access digital repository. By default, all content will be visible to public users. Except in certain circumstances (see Access Restrictions), both the metadata record for an individual item and the full-text (i.e. complete digital content) will be accessible to all users.

Content in Digital Showcase is deemed ‘open access’ because it is openly available and free for personal use (as permitted by U.S. copyright law). Content is not required to be distributed under a Creative Commons license.

Collection Priorities

Content recruitment and resource allocation for support and administration of collections will be determined by the Digital Showcase collection priorities (in descending order):

Level 1 Priorities

  • Theses, dissertations, and other culminating projects (both undergraduate and graduate)
  • Exemplary student academic work (other than culminating projects)
  • Student publications*
  • Collaborative student/faculty publications or academic work
  • Faculty publications*
  • Faculty grey literature
  • Materials from scholarly conferences held at, or sponsored by, Lynchburg College
  • Media files of student or faculty presentations or performances

 

*Pre-prints, post-prints, or published versions.

 

Level 2 Priorities

  • Open educational resources
  • College publications (from centers or offices) that are already openly available
  • Image or other media collections created by Lynchburg College faculty or staff and designed for use in classroom teaching

Eligibility to Contribute

All current Lynchburg College students, faculty*, and staff are eligible to contribute to Digital Showcase during their course of study or employment at the College (subject to the parameters of individual content collections, which are determined either by the Knight-Capron Library or the collection administrators, as appropriate—see Content Administration). Faculty and staff may contribute content created prior to their employment at Lynchburg College.

Lynchburg College alumni are also eligible to contribute; preference will be given for work created during their course of study at the University.

*Adjunct faculty members must have a minimum of (1) academic year total service to the University to be eligible.