Skip to main content
Knight-Capron Library

Transfer Students: Home

Research help from a librarian

Student ambassador on a tour:
" They (the librarians) are awesome!"

Or use our Chat service:

 

Quick Citation Style Guides (for bibliographies, list of works cited)

For personal help with your writing, contact the Wilmer Writing Center

For more complete writing and citation guidance try the Purdue OWL (Online Writing Center)

 

Welcome!

Welcome to Lynchburg College. Every college and university library is a bit different. Resources you had at your previous instition may not be available here. We have books, journals, films, music and other sources of information that were not available there.

We have provided some quick ways to get started with using the Knight-Capron library on this page.

If you want to learn even more about the library and how the staff can help you with research for your classes, please contact us via email, phone, chat or text.
Or use the Ask Us button to the left to search a knowledge base of frequently asked questions. 

 

Most popular sources for articles

For These Subjects: Students Most Often Use:
 
Art LC OneSearch
Athletic Training SPORTDiscus
Biology LC OneSearch
Biomedical Sciences LC OneSearch
Business Administration Business Source Complete
Chemistry ACS Web Editions
Communication Studies Communication & Mass Media Complete
Criminology Criminal Justice Periodicals
Economics EconLit
Education Education Research Complete
English - Literature Gale Literature Resource Center
Environmental Science Environment Complete
Environmental Studies Environment Complete
Exercise Physiology CINAHL with Full Text
Health & Physical Education Education Research Complete
Health Promotion Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition:
History JSTOR
Human Resources Management Business Source Complete
International Relations LC OneSearch
Management Business Source Complete
Marketing Business Source Complete
Mathematics LC OneSearch
Music Grove Music Online(in Oxford Music Online)
Nursing CINAHL with Full Text
Philosophy Ebsco Religion & Philosophy Collection
Political Science LC OneSearch
Psychology psycARTICLES
Religious Studies Ebsco Religion & Philosophy Collection
Sociology Sage Journals Online: Premier Collection
Sport Management SPORTDiscus
Theatre LC OneSearch

 

Full text Articles

Find Articles
Limit Your Results

Films and Music

Films@The Library

A guide to different ways of discovering the films and Television Series avaialble to be checked out.

Research tips

Connecting to the library databases, ebooks, and other online resources from off-campus.

Start at the library's homepage

  • Select a database to use
  • You will then be directed to the log-in page
  • Enter your campus network username and password, just as you would to log-in to a computer on campus.
  • You will be returned to the database you selected.

As long as you keep your web browser open, you should be able to use any of the library's online resources. If you close the browser, you will need to log-in again.

COMMON ISSUES:

  • Unable to acess articles or books available online from Lynchburg College at your place of work.
    • Very often your employer's network has a firewall that will block communication from a proxy server. When you log-in to the off-campus access page, you are being connected through a proxy server. So, you would not be able to connect from work. It should still work from home.
  • Going directly to the website for a journal from a Google or Google Scholar search, but unable to get articles.
    • If you try to connect to a journal directly, without starting from the Library webpage and going through the off-campus network log-in, the journal's website will not recognize your computer as one that has access to the site.
    • We are looking into methods that would allow you to log-in from a journal's website. If you think this woudl be useful to you, please contact us.