Skip to main content
Knight-Capron Library

Distance Education Students: Home

Book Borrowing at Other Colleges & Universities

The library is pleased to announce its participation in the VIVA (Virtual Library of Virginia) Cooperative Borrowing Program.

When visiting at one of the participating libraries at private and public colleges and universities in Virginia, you may check out books from that library by presenting your current LC ID card, and agreeing to follow the borrowing policies of that library.

After reading the book, you may drop it off at the Knight-Capron Library and we will return it for you. Complete information is available at http://www.vivalib.org/borrowing/index.php.

If you have any questions, contact Belinda Carroll:
email: carroll@lynchburg.edu
phone: 434.544.8205

Distance Ed Students: This is YOUR page.

We have included information here based on discussions with Distance Ed Students in the past.

We want this to be a source that you can use to meet your information needs. What else would you like to include here? What would you like to have edited or deleted?

Please email us with your suggestions and ideas: refdesk@lynchburg.edu

Research help from a librarian

Student ambassador on a tour:
" They (the librarians) are awesome!"

Or use our Chat service:

 

Connecting to the library databases, ebooks, and other online resources from off-campus.

Start at the library's homepage

  • Select a database to use
  • You will then be directed to the log-in page
  • Enter your campus network username and password, just as you would to log-in to a computer on campus.
  • You will be returned to the database you selected.

As long as you keep your web browser open, you should be able to use any of the library's online resources. If you close the browser, you will need to log-in again.

COMMON ISSUES:

  • Unable to acess articles or books available online from Lynchburg College at your place of work.
    • Very often your employer's network has a firewall that will block communication from a proxy server. When you log-in to the off-campus access page, you are being connected through a proxy server. So, you would not be able to connect from work. It should still work from home.
  • Going directly to the website for a journal from a Google or Google Scholar search, but unable to get articles.
    • If you try to connect to a journal directly, without starting from the Library webpage and going through the off-campus network log-in, the journal's website will not recognize your computer as one that has access to the site.
    • We are looking into methods that would allow you to log-in from a journal's website. If you think this woudl be useful to you, please contact us.

eBooks (Using left column, limit results to ebooks.)

 

Find Books

Full text Articles

Find Articles
Limit Your Results

Most popular sources for articles

For These Subjects: Students Most Often Use:
 
Art LC OneSearch
Athletic Training SPORTDiscus
Biology LC OneSearch
Biomedical Sciences LC OneSearch
Business Administration Business Source Complete
Chemistry ACS Web Editions
Communication Studies Communication & Mass Media Complete
Criminology Criminal Justice Periodicals
Economics EconLit
Education Education Research Complete
English - Literature Gale Literature Resource Center
Environmental Science Environment Complete
Environmental Studies Environment Complete
Exercise Physiology CINAHL with Full Text
Health & Physical Education Education Research Complete
Health Promotion Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition:
History JSTOR
Human Resources Management Business Source Complete
International Relations LC OneSearch
Management Business Source Complete
Marketing Business Source Complete
Mathematics LC OneSearch
Music Grove Music Online(in Oxford Music Online)
Nursing CINAHL with Full Text
Philosophy Ebsco Religion & Philosophy Collection
Political Science LC OneSearch
Psychology psycARTICLES
Religious Studies Ebsco Religion & Philosophy Collection
Sociology Sage Journals Online: Premier Collection
Sport Management SPORTDiscus
Theatre LC OneSearch

 

Hours

Most asked Questions

How do I get a reading my professor has put on electronic reserve for our class?

Answer: 

From the horizontal navigation bar on the Library's homepage:

  • Select Services/Help
    • Second Tab is Course Reserves
    • Search by Instructor or class number.
    • Find the item you want on the list
    • log-in with the course password provided by your instructor

Got another question? 

Ask your question

Library After Hours